My food-garden

Already when I was a little kid I loved growing things in the garden. I had my own planterbox full of radishes and planted peas and carrots in my sandbox when I lost interrest in making sand cakes. Last year was the first time I lived somewhere I could plant my own garden, and even though it got started quite late in the spring (we moved in April) we managed to get a decent harvest of peas, beets, potatoes, onions a few tomatoes and a huge amount of green beans. We were harvesting buckets of beans every week from just this little small plot you can see in the picture below.

I saved and dried both peas and beans from last year’s harvest that I just poked into the ground today, but this year we’re going all in with the tomatoes since Kelowna is supposed to be a really good climate for them. I will update later about which kinds we’re growing, but as you can see in the pictures, they’re already growing 37 plants strong :). I started by planting the seeds in old paper egg cartons and made little greenhouses from plastic egg cartons that I placed them inside. When it was time to transfer them to larger pots I simply broke off pieces of the egg carton and covered up with soil in the new pot. Great cheap way to nurse your plants!

I grew the tomatoes in little greenhouses made from plastic and paper egg cartons

All the little baby tomatoes transplanted & hanging out in the sun.

2 thoughts on “My food-garden

  1. This looks really great. I wont be able to plant until mid May.. ah!.. it snowed a few days ago here. The weather in ON has been crazy!. My poor garlic has been snowed on twice. Oh and I love your trellis :)

    What is with the row of flat rocks? Does water pour off the roof there?

    • Yeah, it’s easy to get carried away. I wanted to plant everything like two weeks ago, but so far I’ve stuck to planting onions and some beans outside. Maybe I’ll poke down some corn too soon, but you never know if it’ll get chilly again. The flat “stones” are lids from cans that splashes out the water rinning of the roof in large streams :)

Leave a Reply

