Moules marinières

One of my favourite foods all time is freshly boiled mussels. As a kid my family used to spend the summers in northern France, more precisely here:

As a consequence of this, I got spoiled eating really good mussels already as a kid. Living in Halifax for a year didn’t make me any less spoiled, and there I actually took a university course in aquaculture where we got to go out to a mussel farm to see how they grow them.

So, I guess the point I’m trying to make is that eating mussels is something very dear to my heart, and my favourite version of preparing them is the classic recipe for moule marinière.

This is how I make them:

  • 3.5 pounds of mussels
  • 1 bottle of white wine
  • 400ml cream
  • 4 chopped shallots
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 branches of fresh thyme
  • a fresh garden carrot
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • butter
  • salt & pepper
  • a big bunch of parsley

Wash the mussels. Chop the shallots and the garlic and fry them up in some butter in the bottom of a large pot. Add the herbs and the wine and the cream, pour the mussels in and let boil/steam with a closed lid until the mussels are opening.

Serve with some fresh baguette :)

Leave a Reply

